Home » Questions Answered » What is the European Parliament?

What is the European Parliament?

The European Parliament is where politicians meet to debate and make laws that affect countries in the European Union. It is based in the French city of Strasbourg and the Belgian city of Brussels.

The European Union is a group of 28 countries in Europe whose governments work together. The UK is one of those countries.

People from each of the 28 countries are elected to the European Parliament in European elections. When they are elected they become an MEP, which stands for Member of the European Parliament.

The European Parliament makes decisions on things like the environment, workers’ rights, international trade, animal rights and consumer rights.

Related content:

What is the European Union?

What are European elections?

What is an MEP?