Home » Questions Answered » What is the Northern Ireland Assembly?

What is the Northern Ireland Assembly?

The Northern Ireland Assembly makes laws in Northern Ireland on devolved matters like health, education and the environment. It is located on the Stormont estate in Belfast.

It does not have any control over issues like defence, national security and foreign policy, which are dealt with by the UK Parliament and UK Government.

It is made up of 108 politicians called MLAs, which stands for Members of the Legislative Assembly. There are six MLAs from each of the 18 constituencies in Northern Ireland. MLAs are voted for by the Northern Irish public.

MLAs in the Northern Ireland Assembly also help to make sure the Northern Ireland Executive is doing its job properly by scrutinising it and asking questions.

Related content:

What is the Northern Ireland Executive?

What is an MLA?

What is devolution?